Seriously Sarah? Shut up!

I read something this morning that really disappointed me.

‘”It’s no wonder Michelle Obama is telling everybody you better breastfeed your baby-yeah, you better-because the price of milk is so high right now!” Palin allegedly said.’ (http://www.sify.com/news/sarah-palin-s-breastfeeding-joke-backfires-news-international-lctp4cieabg.html)
Ummm….I thought Sarah was supposed to be this crunchy mama bear from Alaska?   Besides, everybody knows that babies under a year wouldn’t be drinking cow’s milk if they weren’t breastfed…they’d be drinking formula!

I certainly think that the recent announcements that nursing supplies and breastpumps will be tax deductible is awesome!  While it doesn’t help me in any way (since your medical deductions have to total at least 7.5% of your income before you can actually deduct them and we don’t participate in an FSA), I know that this might help another mom who is going back to work and will be able to express milk for her baby.   I am certainly pleased with Mrs. Obama’s voice in this arena, speaking out against childhood obesity, and breastfeeding as a means to correct it.  I think that breastfeeding is just the beginning when it comes to combating childhood obesity.  The federal food program for childcare centers, and the school lunch programs need some serious help too.  That’s an entirely other issue that I can’t even begin to discuss because it gets me sooooo angry!  I absolutely HATE that I have no control over what my kids are fed (not because they eat at school, but because of who they live with).  However, I do teach them when they’re with me about proper nutrition.  I tell them what choices are good versus bad.  I totally regret the day I took them to McDonalds for the first time.  I can assure you I will not make that mistake with my youngest!  Like I said…I could go on and on and on, but that’s not what this is supposed to be about.  This is about breastfeeding.  I’m so fortunate that I can do this for my kids, as I know there are women who are unable to.  There are also women who just flat out choose NOT to.  Well, that is their prerogative.  I just cannot fathom spending thousands of dollars to feed my child a synthetic substitute for what God gave me.

I know this is somewhat controversial, and I’m really not sure why it is, but…go ahead and fire away!  I’d love to hear your thoughts on the subject!

Leave a Reply

